Assignment 2 By Sean

Uncategorized

One of my favorite genres across all media is comedy; it is so universal in the sense that no matter what mood I am in, there is nothing more enjoyable than a good laugh. Many forms of humor exist, but the way I want to approach my comedic comic book is create a story line that is both engaging and exciting, and approach it from a comedic standpoint.

For my two examples of stories of comedy, I chose two movies that approached comedy from two different standpoints, both of which are under consideration from the direction I want to approach my comic book.

Example 1: Horrible Bosses: For those of you who have not seen this movie, I give you a quick summary. The three main characters, Nick, Dale, and Kurt, are three average guys who all have one thing in common; they hate their bosses. The movie goes on to show each character at their respected jobs, and provide examples of why these men hate their bosses and why it is not exactly reasonable for them to quit their jobs. One night, while all three are sharing drinks, they drunkenly discuss how humorous and helpful it would be if they killed their bosses…can someone say “heck yeah”?

I am choosing this movie as one example because it approaches comedy from an action-thrilling direction. Not only is this movie absolutely ridden with adult humor, its plotline makes you unable to look away from the screen in anticipation of what is either going to happen next…or what stupid yet hilarious comment Dale is going to make. One thing that perhaps could make this difficult is it often times takes time to develop a strong plot. With the limited amount of pages I have in the comic I am going to create, this could make it not only difficult to develop a strong plotline but also approach it in a humorous way. At the same time, not only does it capture the audience’s attention better, even if some of the jokes made are hitting and missing some audience members, the strong plot allows for the audiences attention to be kept despite the humor that may not be present for them.

Example 2: Project X: Quick plot summary: Three unpopular and unknown high school students attempt to make a name for themselves in the eyes of their peers by throwing a big party. When Thomas’s parents leave for the weekend, Thomas and his two friends Costa and Dax decide that the only way they are ever going to be popular in high school is by throwing a party to showcase how cool and fun the three kids are. What started off as a seemingly ordinary party quickly spirals out of control, leaving the batch of high school partygoers to fend off police in an attempt to avoid trouble and not perish in the neighborhood that has caught on fire.

This movie is being chosen as my second example of comedy, not only because it is one of my favorite movies and favorite soundtracks, but also because of the way I believe this movie was approached. I don’t go out to very many parties, but I would like to believe that if I did, I would experience this every single time. Not only are the main characters hilarious, but the ability to somehow relate myself to the characters in the movie with my high school self makes this movie that much more enjoyable. I wouldn’t consider this movie so much as action thrilling like the previous movie, although there is a lot of thrill towards the end of the movie. The way I would classify these movies plot is one that sets up the movie for a strong comedy. The previous movie’s plot is actually really clever, and I believe could standout without the humor. This movie on the other hand not so much, it really sets up the movie for all of the humorous antics you are about to witness, which is something I am considering for my approach to my comic book.

Reflecting on the two movies I have chosen, they both have one thing in common; a plotline that seems like a good idea at the time and quickly turns into a nightmare, so at least now I have an idea of how to form my plotline.

To sum up basically what I have written, the genre I am choosing for my comic book is comedy. In my eyes, there are two ways that comedy plots are written, #1 either the plot is strong independently and is complemented by humor, or #2 the plot is created to set up humor. The two examples of movies I provided for this claim is Horrible Bosses and Project X. At this point, I am leaning towards the approach of creating a plot that sets up my humor. If you have ever seen any James Franco and Seth Rogan movies, you know what I am talking about (favorite comedy duo btw). I think one negative this approach has is if your jokes are not hitting with your audience, you are going to lose their attention very fast. However, you have much more of a range of directions to head in for your plot, making it easier to form a plot and allowing more time to be spent on the jokes. In the end, I believe plot approach #1 creates for a movie/story that is well rounded, both funny and exciting. But, if you have the guts to approach plot #2, your story can end up being extremely hilarious, and who doesn’t like a good laugh?

Leave a Reply

