Kyra’s Introduction

Uncategorized

Hey,

I’m Kyra (pronounced Key-rah). A lot of people say my name incorrectly because it’s spelled Kyra… and really we have no one to blame for that misfortune but my parents so don’t feel bad. I’ve never had the pleasure of being given a nickname but I am great at giving them and I have nicknames for all my friends. I’m a double major in political science and sociology but I might change that because there doesn’t seem to be enough creativity and whimsy in those fields for me. I just turned 19 so I hope there is still enough time for me to figure out what to do with my life.

I travel a lot and have been to every continent except Africa. I actually just arrived back from Costa Rica yesterday.

The first time I read a comic was when my dad handed me a collection of “Elf Quest”. If a compelling story about a clan of hippy elves who live in the forest and communicate with nature and wolves sounds like your cup of tea then I highly recommend that series. I also love Clavin and Hobbes which has more depth and substance than most novels do, let alone a humorous comic strip. I have loved comics ever since reading those.

I’m going to put down some of my favorite things in a list because I think you can tell a lot about a person’s character by the things they like most (and if I’m being honest I need more words on this).

Comics: Calvin and Hobbes, Dare Devil, The Watchmen, Elf Quest, Far Side, Moon Night

Video Games: Fallout 3, Dragon Age Origins, Portal 2, Baldur’s Gate

Movies: V for Vendetta, Sunshine, Snow Piercer, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, Ferris Buller’s Day off

T.V. Shows: Star Trek (as a child I was subjected to watching every single episode and movie of all the Star Trek series, but I love it), Mad Men, The X-files, Lost, Battle Star Galactica, Fire Fly

This is my favorite picture of myself because I think it sums me up as a person: perpetually confused in a world in which everyone else seems to know exactly what they’re doing. But I’d rather be different than follow the crowd.

DCF 1.0

One thought on “Kyra’s Introduction

  1. Hello Kyra, that was a great introduction, full of humor and exciting news. I’m not sure if you have ideas yet, but your travel experiences sound like they could make a great comic. Also, we share a lot of similar tastes in media (I’m also a big fan of Firefly, Fallout 3, etc) so I look forward to chatting about what you’re reading/watching as well as what imaginative ideas you have for your own comic.
    Also, great picture.

    Like

Leave a Reply

